Pittcon Announces New Committee Leadership for Pittcon 2017

For more information, contact Marian Nardozzi, nardozzi@pittcon.org, 800-825-3221 x 203

Pittsburgh, PA – August 18, 2016 – The Organizing Committee is pleased to announce the new chairmen who are collaborating on strategic and tactical plans to make Pittcon 2017 another successful year. As of July 1, Gregory Meisner, esq., took office as president along with his named Vice President Adrian Michael (University of Pittsburgh, Department of Chemistry) and selected chairs. Other members of the Executive Board include Bill Sharpe, Ph.D, (retired); Joseph J. Grabowski, Ph.D (University of Pittsburgh); Karen L. Johnson, (Bidwell Training Center); Elias S. Absey, (Waters Corporation); Melinda R. Stephens, Ph.D, (Geneva College); Resa B. Stauffer, (Childrens Hospital of Pittsburgh); Jane N. Chan, Ph.D, (Bechtel Bettis); and Ron G. Bargiel, (PA American Water).

This year’s exposition chairman is Melinda Stephens, Ph.D, (chief academic officer, Geneva College). The Program Committee is led by Dr. Fu-Tyan Lin, (LIST NMR) and Stephanie Wetzel, Ph.D (assistant professor, Duquesne University) is the short course chairman. Registration is organized by Fu-mei Lin, Ph.D, (retired). Geoffrey White, (general counsel & chief intellectual property counsel, Silco Tek Corp.) chairs the marketing team.

Pittcon is managed by a group of approximately 100 volunteers serving on one or more of the existing 26 committees and supported by a dedicated 11-person staff. To learn more about Pittcon, visit www.pittcon.org.

About Pittcon
Pittcon® is a registered trademark of The Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy, a Pennsylvania non-profit organization. Co-sponsored by the Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh and the Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh, Pittcon is the premier annual conference and exposition on laboratory science.

Proceeds from Pittcon fund science education and outreach at all levels, kindergarten through adult. Pittcon donates more than a million dollars a year to provide financial and administrative support for various science outreach activities including science equipment grants, research grants, scholarships and internships for students, awards to teachers and professors, and grants to public science centers, libraries and museums.