March 6 - 10, 2021
Ernest N. Morial Convention Center
New Orleans, LA USA

Symposium Details

Monday, March 2, 2020
Time: 1:30 PM
Room: W183A

The 31st James L. Waters Symposium:
Ion Mobility Spectrometry-Mass Spectrometry

The Ion Mobility Spectrometry-Mass Spectrometry (IMS-MS) technique is diversifying and becoming more established now that several commercial exploratory instruments are available. Pioneer speakers will describe the development, commercial construction as well as recent advances in the instrumentation and its applications.

The SACP is extremely pleased to welcome the following innovators:

Michael Bowers – University of California at Santa Barbara

David E. Clemmer – Indiana University

Martin Jarrold – Indiana University

Kevin Giles – Waters Corporation

David Russell – Texas A&M University

Richard Smith – Pacific Northwest National Laboratory


What is the Waters Symposium?
The James L. Waters Annual Symposium is a unique component of the Pittsburgh Conference Technical Program. Mr. Waters, founder of Waters Associates, Inc. and President of Waters Business Systems, Inc. proposed in 1989 that the Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh (SACP) offer an annual symposium exploring the origin, development, implementation, and commercialization of scientific instrumentation of established and major significance. The objective of the symposium is to recognize researchers and the development and application of instrumentation by preserving the early, and in some cases, more mature history of the important contributions as well as the cooperation between inventors, scientists, engineers, entrepreneurs, and marketing organizations.


Symposium Speakers
We are extremely pleased to welcome the following innovators to Pittcon 2020:

Michael T. Bowers, University of California at Santa Barbara

Michael T. Bowers is currently a Distinguished Professor at the University of California at Santa Barbara. He is best known for his work in Ion Mobility, has published over 450 papers, has an h-index of 82 and is a Fellow of the ACS, APS, AAAS and RSC.


David E. Clemmer, Indiana University

David E. Clemmer joined Indiana University in 1995. His research is focused on developing mass-spectrometry based technologies for characterizing complex mixtures. His group is often credited for pioneering nested ion mobility mass spectrometry techniques. David and his collaborators have published more than 250 papers.


Martin F. Jarrold, Indiana University

Martin F. Jarrold is currently Professor and Robert and Marjorie Mann Chair in the Chemistry Department at Indiana University. Prior to 2002 he was Professor in the Chemistry Department at Northwestern University. From 1985 to 1992 he was in the Physics Research Division at AT&T Bell Laboratories.


Kevin Giles, Waters Corporation

Kevin is a Scientific Fellow at Waters Corporation where he has worked for 21 years in the MS research group. His primary interests have been in the development of ion guiding technology and ion mobility separators to enhance the performance and functionality of MS instruments.


David H. Russell, Texas A&M University

David H. Russell, MDS Sciex Professor of Mass Spectrometry, 2002 AAAS Fellow, recipient of 2013 ACS Frank H. Field & Joe L. Franklin Award for Outstanding Achievement in Mass Spectrometry and 2019 ACS Analytical Chemistry Award in Chemical Instrumentation. His research focuses on structural mass spectrometry instrument development.


Richard D. Smith, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Richard D. Smith is Chief Scientist for the Biological Sciences Division at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory. His research has included the development of supercritical fluid chromatography, capillary electrophoresis, capillary LC, and (most recently) Structures for Lossless Ion Manipulations high resolution ion mobility separations in conjunction with mass spectrometry.





Back to Top