March 6 - 10, 2016
Georgia World Congress Center
Atlanta, GA USA

Program Resource Team.

Pittcon's Collaborative Program Resource Team.

In an ongoing effort to enhance the value of and to further diversify our Technical Program, the Pittcon Organizing Committee is pleased to announce the formation of a Program Resource Team. The purpose of this team is to collaborate on and make recommendations for the 2015 Technical Program. The Team consists of experts in the fields of pharmaceutical science, nanotechnology, and food science.

Alan G. Marshall, Ph.D.
Florida State University

Robert O. Lawton Professor of Chemistry & Biochemistry
Director, Ion Cyclotron Resonance Program

Professor Alan G. Marshall obtained his Ph.D. from Stanford University. Before joining the faculty at Florida State University, he was a faculty member at the University of British Columbia and at Ohio State University. His recognitions include: Alfred P. Sloan Fellow, American Chemical Society Award in Chemical Instrumentation, Eastern Analytical Symposium Award, American Chemical Society Field-Franklin Award in Mass Spectrometry, Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh Maurice F. Hasler Award, New York Society for Applied Spectroscopy Gold Medal, and the American Society for Mass Spectrometry Distinguished Contribution Award.

He is a Fellow of both the American Physical Society and the American Association for the Advancement of Science, and is an FSU Distinguished Research Professor.
Research includes: fourier transform ion cyclotron resonance mass spectrometry, protein structure and folding in solution and gas phase, non-covalent bonding in biological macromolecules, mixture analysis by ultrahigh-resolution mass spectrometry, ultrasensitive mass analysis (at level of a single biological cell), environmental mass spectrometry, and optical spectroscopy of mass-selected trapped ions.

Chad A. Mirkin, Ph.D.
Northwestern University
National Academy of Sciences

Professor of Chemistry, Professor of Medicine and Professor of Materials Science and Engineering
Director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology

Dr. Chad A. Mirkin is the Director of the International Institute for Nanotechnology, the George B. Rathmann Prof. of Chemistry, Prof. of Chemical and Biological Engineering, Prof. of Biomedical Engineering, Prof. of Materials Science & Engineering, and Prof. of Medicine. He is a chemist and a world renowned nanoscience expert, who is known for his development of nanoparticle-based biodetection and therapeutic schemes, the invention of Dip-Pen Nanolithography and On-Wire Lithography, and contributions to supramolecular chemistry and nanoparticle synthesis. He is the author of over 520 manuscripts and over 900 patent applications worldwide (233 issued), and the founder of four companies, Nanosphere, NanoInk, AuraSense, and AuraSense Therapeutics, which are commercializing nanotechnology applications in the life science and semiconductor industries.

Dr. Mirkin has been recognized for his accomplishments with over 80 national and international awards. He is a Member of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science & Technology (Obama Administration), and the only chemist (one of only 12 scientists, engineers, and medical doctors) to be elected to all three US National Academies (the Inst. of Medicine, the Natl. Academy of Sci., and the Natl. Academy of Engin.). He is also a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the Materials Research Society. Dr. Mirkin has served on the Editorial Advisory Boards of over twenty scholarly journals.

Dr. Mirkin holds a B.S. degree from Dickinson College (1986, elected into Phi Beta Kappa) and a Ph.D. degree in Chemistry from the Penn. State Univ. (1989). He was an NSF Postdoctoral Fellow at the MIT prior to becoming a professor at Northwestern Univ. in 1991.

Lowri S. de Jager, Ph.D.
U.S. Food & Drug Administration

Research Chemist, Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition

Lowri S. De Jager is a Supervisory Research Chemist for the Methods Development Branch in the U.S. Food and Drug Administration’s Center for Food Safety and Applied Nutrition (CFSAN) in College Park, Maryland. The branch’s research focuses on method development for the analysis of additives and contaminants in foods and food packaging. Other work in the branch focuses on investigation of economic adulteration, determination of marine toxins, and method development for food defense.

In addition to her laboratory work, Dr. De Jager serves on various Agency committees and working groups. Dr De Jager received a BSc (Hons) in Chemistry and Biochemistry from Rhodes University and completed her PhD in Chemistry from Ohio University in 2001.


John Steichen, Ph.D.
Retired, DuPont

Senior Research Fellow

John Carl Steichen retired from E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company in 2012 as a Senior Research Fellow after 39 years involved in the development, application, and commercialization of analytical and bioanalytical instruments and sensors. His carrier began in DuPont’s Instrument Products Division and ended in DuPont’s BioProtection business unit, part of DuPont Nutrition and Health.

He is the holder of 50+ patents ranging from liquid chromatography detectors and pumping systems, beverage analysis, container sensors, high temperature metal oxide sensors, engine exhaust sensors and engine control systems, refrigeration systems, and pathogen detection. He was involved in the development of several proprietary ATR detector cells and their application to a number of DuPont isocyanate and group transfer polymerization reactions in manufacturing processes.

He holds a Ph.D. degree from Rice University and several other degrees from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, The George Washington University, and the Technical University of Munich.


Christopher J. Welch, Ph.D.
Merck Research Laboratories

Science Lead, Analytical Chemistry
Chair, New Technologies Review & Licensing Committee

Chris is Science Lead for Analytical Chemistry within the Process and Analytical Chemistry area at Merck Research Laboratories in Rahway, NJ. Chris also co-chairs the New Technologies Review and Licensing Committee (NT-RLC), the organization that oversees identification, acquisition and evaluation of new technologies of potential value to Merck Research Laboratories. Chris also co-chairs the newly launched MRL Postdoctoral Research Fellows Program.

Dr. Welch has authored more than 180 scientific publications and patents, and is co-founder of the journal, Enantiomer, a member of the editorial board of the journals, Chirality, Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry, Journal of the Korean Chemical Society, Chemistry World (RSC) and Chemical & Engineering News (ACS). Chris has served as a councilor for the ACS Division of Organic Chemistry since 2007, and was recently elected as chair-elect for this division.

He is a member of the Executive Committee for the International Symposia on Chirality, a member of the ACS steering committee for Pacifichem, and a member of the PittCon Resource Team. Honors and awards include the NJCG Award for Excellence in Chromatography, the PACS Activated Carbon Hall of Fame award, 2009 MRL Presidents Award for Environmental Achievement, Microsoft Life Science Innovation Award (2010) Fellow, American Chemical Society (2010) and Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, AAAS (2013).




Back to Top