Pittcon Recognizes Outstanding Achievements in Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy

Pittsburgh, PA – November 13, 2014 – The Pittcon 2015 Program Committee is pleased to announce the recipients of 14 prestigious awards honoring scientists who have made outstanding contributions to analytical chemistry and applied spectroscopy. Each award will be presented during a symposium at Pittcon 2015, March 8-12, 2015, New Orleans, Louisiana.

Presentations will include topics in applications such as bioanalytical, nanotechnology, genomics/proteomics, fuels/energy, materials, polymers/plastics, pharmaceutical, biomedical and neurochemistry. Methodologies include near infrared spectroscopy, molecular and vibrational spectroscopy; mass spectrometry; capillary electrophoresis; electrochemistry; liquid chromatography; sensors, magnetic resonance and chemical methods.

There will be two new awards this year, the Lifetime Achievement in Chromatography Award and the Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award, both of which are sponsored by LCGC. The LCGC Lifetime Achievement Award honors a seasoned professional for a lifetime of contributions to the advancement of chromatographic techniques and applications. The LCGC Emerging Leader Award recognizes the achievements and aspirations of a talented young separation scientist who has made significant practical contributions to the field of separation science. The LCGC Awards were created in 2008, and for the first time in 2015, the recipients will be honored at Pittcon.

“The LCGC Awards, now in their 8th year, were created to honor those who developed the field of chromatography into what it is today, and to recognize the leaders of the next generation of scientists who represent the future,” said LCGC publisher Mike Tessalone. “Our mission at LCGC is to educate our readers, and what better way to do that than to provide real-life examples of people that paved the way for new technologies and methods, while also highlighting current research that is breaking new ground,” he added.

Awards and recipients are as follows:

    Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award

    Alfred G. Redfield
    Brandeis University

    Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award

    Andrew G. Ewing
    Chalmers and Gothenburg Universities

    Pittsburgh Conference Achievement Award

    Ryan C. Bailey
    University of Illinois

    Pittcon Heritage Award

    A.Blaine Bowman

    ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry Award for Young Investigators in Separation Sciences Award

    Dwight R. Stoll
    Gustavus Adolphus College

    Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley Dal Nogare Award

    Mark R. Schure
    Kroungold Analytical, Inc.

    SEAC – Charles N Reilley Award

    Hubert Girault
    Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland

    SEAC – Royce W. Murray Award

    Thomas Hamann
    Michigan State University

    The Coblentz Society/ABB – Bomem-Michelson Award

    David Jonas
    University of Colorado

    The Coblentz Society – Williams-Wright Award

    Jagdeesh Bandekar
    Dow Automotive System

    The LCGC Lifetime Achievement in Chromatography Award

    Joseph Jack Kirkland
    Advanced Materials Technology, Inc.

    The LCGC Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award

    Caroline West
    University of Orleans

See complete details and bios at www.pittcon.org/award-recipients/

About Pittcon
Pittcon® is a registered trademark of The Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy, a Pennsylvania non-profit organization. Co-sponsored by the Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh and the Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh, Pittcon is the premier annual conference and exposition on laboratory science.

Proceeds from Pittcon fund science education and outreach at all levels, kindergarten through adult. Pittcon donates more than a million dollars a year to provide financial and administrative support for various science outreach activities including science equipment grants, research grants, scholarships and internships for students, awards to teachers and professors, and grants to public science centers, libraries and museums.

Visit pittcon.org for more information.