Innovators, Advances in Laboratory Science Recognized

For more information, contact Rocco Pacella,, 800-825-3221 x 202

Award Presentations and Symposia Featured at Pittcon

Pittsburgh, PA – December, 2022 – Each year, Pittcon provides a venue where scientists who have made outstanding contributions in laboratory science and analytical chemistry are honored. Pittcon will collaborate March 18-22, 2023, in Philadelphia, PA, USA, featuring 12 such awards.

The Pittsburgh Analytical Chemistry Award will be presented to Dr. Neil Kelleher of Northwestern University. Dr. Kelleher is the Walter and Mary E. Glass Professor of Molecular Biosciences, Professor of Chemistry in the Weinberg College of Arts and Sciences, and Professor of Medicine (Hematology and Oncology) in the Feinberg School of Medicine. Dr. Kelleher’s research focuses on the area of top-down proteomics, natural products discovery, and cancer biology.

The Pittsburgh Spectroscopy Award will be presented to Dr. Robert Tycko of the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Tycko has made many contributions to modern solid-state NMR methodology and its applications to important problems in physical and biological sciences. Current efforts in his lab focus on novel, time-resolved NMR methods, high-resolution MRI at very low temperatures, and structural studies of protein assemblies implicated in neurogenerative diseases.

The Pittsburgh Conference Achievement Award will be presented to Dr. Jeffrey Dick of Purdue University. Dr. Dick is currently Professor of Chemistry and has over 40 independent referred publications, receiving a NSF Career Grant, NIH MIRA Outstanding Investigator Award, US Army Corps of Engineers Award, and Alfred P. Sloan Fellowship for significant contributions that have begun to reshape the single particle synthesis and characterization landscape.

Other awards hosted at Pittcon are: the Pittcon Heritage Award; the ACS Analytical Division Satinder Ahuja Award for Young Investigators in Separation Science; SEAC Royce W. Murray Award and SEAC Charles N. Reilley Award; the LCGC Lifetime Achievement in Chromatography Award and LCGC Emerging Leader in Chromatography Award; the Coblentz Society Williams-Wright Award; the Chromatography Forum of the Delaware Valley’s Dal Nogare Award; and the Ralph N. Adams Award.
Details on all awards presented at Pittcon may be found at

Pittcon: Catalyzing a world of collaborative science.
Pittcon is a dynamic, transnational conference and exposition on laboratory science, a venue for presenting the latest advances in research and scientific instrumentation, and a platform for continuing education and science-enhancing opportunity.

Our aim is to advance scientific endeavor through collaboration, bringing together a world of knowledge to impact, enrich, and inspire the future of science. Pittcon is a catalyst for the exchange of information, a showcase of the latest advances in laboratory science, and a venue for international connectivity.

Over 90% of Pittcon’s annual net profit funds scientific grants, education, laboratory improvements, and outreach.

About Pittcon
Pittcon® is a registered trademark of The Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy, a Pennsylvania non-profit organization. Co-sponsored by the Spectroscopy Society of Pittsburgh and the Society for Analytical Chemists of Pittsburgh, Pittcon is the premier annual conference and exposition on laboratory science.